Driver Safety Course

If you are charged with a traffic offense, you may be eligible to ask the Judge to take a driver safety course to dismiss the charge. The request must be made on or before the appearance date on your citation, either in person or in writing. If you were operating a motorcycle and request to take a driving safety course, you must take a motorcycle operator's training course. 

At the time of the request, you must do the following:

1. Complete the Sworn Request for Driver Safety Courseand have notarized (if mailing).

2. Submit copy of proof of financial responsibility (liability insurance) valid on the day of your request;

3. Submit copy of your Texas driver's license valid the day of your request;

4. Pay court costs of $109.10 for regular zone offenses or $134.10 for offenses occurring within a school zone. Payment can be made by check, cashiers check or money order through the mail or cash, check, money order or cashier’s check in person. 

The case will be postponed for 90 days to allow you time to complete the course. You must attend a driving safety course that has been approved by the Texas Education Agency or a motorcycle operator's course approved by the Department of Public Safety.

You are eligible to request this course if you:

1. Have not requested and taken a driving safety course for a traffic offense within the last 12 months (The court will go by the date recorded on your driving record).

2. Are not currently taking the course for another traffic violation.

3. Have not committed the offense of speeding 25 mph over the speed limit. 

4. Are not a Commercial Driver's License Holder.

5. Have not committed one of the following:

  • Failure to Give Information at Accident Scene;
  • Leaving the Scene of Accident;
  • Fleeing or Attempting to Elude Police Officer;
  • Passing a School Bus;
  • Any violation while operating a commercial motor vehicle;
  • Any offense committed in a construction maintenance zone when workers are present.


Common Problems when taking driving safety course to dismiss charges:

  •  Failure to complete the course within the time limit.
  • Failure to obtain a  certified copy of your driving record.
  • Not sending in the "Court Copy" of the Driving Safety Course Certificate. 
  • Submitting the Driving Safety Course Certificate without signing it.  
  • Lost documents in the mail.
  • Failure to call the Clerk's office and confirm disposition of your case.
  • Waiting until the last week to plan completion and there is not enough time to complete required tasks.

If you do not take the course in the times required and/or fail to present the court with a certificate of completion, the court will set up a Show Cause Hearing.  The hearing is your opportunity to speak with the judge regarding why you failed to comply.  If you fail to appear at your hearing, a conviction will be entered and reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety.  

You will also be notified that you owe the fine for the offense. Not paying the fine will result in the issuance of a warrant for your arrest, an additional $30 for reporting the unpaid balance to the Department of Public Safety for the denial of the renewal of your driver’s license, and an additional criminal charge of "Failure to Appear" may also be filed against you further increasing the fees due.